Weekend Round-Up #5: For the Lister In All of Us

As if the ‘Best of 2011’ lists weren’t enough, flip the calendar to 2012 and we’re bombarded by ‘Best Places/Things/Toilets/Bicycles/People/You Name It of 2012.’ Despite my aversion to lists (says the Type A personality who LOVES lists), there are a few ‘Best of’ lists that caught my eye around the web and I thought I’d do a little round-up of my own to round off the new year:

  • Running in to 2012 full speed

    This ’45 Places to go in 2012′ NY Times article has a few spots that have been on my radar for years (namely Lhasa, Myanmar, and Tanzania), but there were a few unexpected surprises that caught my eye (like Koh Rong Island in Cambodia, at right). But please, why ’45’? I’m not sure I understand the significance of that particular number to 2012. Someone help me here.

  • Having just planned a destination wedding utilizing as many ‘green’ details as possible, I was pleased to see these suggestions and that I fulfilled all of them (hooray for vintage jewelry shopping at my favorite site 1stdibs  and outdoor weddings in the rain making the cut).

    Ready for the beach! Good thing I wore my heels!

  • Fashion designers’ ‘Resort’ looks are always amusing to me due to their distinct lack of functionality in most travel contexts as I know them (but then again, I’m not a fan of large ‘resorts’ per se)—here’s an expansive collection of looks from designers’ 2012 collections that are sure to inspire some travel ideas—like, for example, to a Scandinavian hot spring where you will surely need an Alexander Wang swimsuit with a ski jacket cover-up. Uh, hello, who exactly are these designers designing for? Entertaining, at the very least…
  • Welcome to the future. Well, the future of travel: Crowd-sourcing, anyone? Apparently utilizing social network tools to decide your next adventure is the ‘new normal’ (a term that, incidentally, makes me laugh every time I hear it). Check out this list of the ‘Most Important Trends in Travel for 2012’ over at Travel + Leisure’s website. The list does make note of one of my favorite new travel trends, AirBnB.com, a site that allows you to rent apartment accommodations ‘from real people’ (as opposed to those pesky ‘fake people’) in a variety of international locales.
  • We'd say 'Wish you were here,' but really, we're not at all concerned with you or your whereabouts right now.

    Finally, with the weather on an ever-increasing warming trend (hello, climate change!), you might be craving a cool off, but nevertheless, The Travel Channel has this list of the ‘hottest places’ to go in 2012. Let’s just hope these spots aren’t setting heat records, but are still pretty cool (I couldn’t resist).

About Kaitlin Solimine

Kaitlin Solimine was raised in New Hampshire but has considered China a second home for the past two decades. She is the author of the award-winning forthcoming novel Empire of Glass and co-founder of Hippo Reads, a media start-up connecting academic insights with real world issues. She lives in Singapore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

